My First Week in Training

This week is my second week of training. If you want the backstory, read this and this.

Here’s what I did last week, my first full week of training, in addition to my usual commute, which these days is only about 7km each way, plus a ferry ride:

Monday: 1 hour swimming. I wasn’t really counting how many lengths, just trying to see if I could swim for an hour. I could.

Tuesday: Nothing. Day off.

Wednesday: My regular time for a swimming training session, but I had meetings and couldn’t do it. Did stretching, free weights, and 5o sit-ups in the evening.

Thursday: Technique session with Vicki. My second one. Most of what I am doing is wrong, and generally too fast. She tries to teach me control. And how to do the breaststroke. My breaststroke is very funny, and not in a good way! My crawl is not terrible, but too fast. Backstroke is my best stroke at the moment, the one that seems to have most right about it to start with at least.

Friday: More meetings. No training. Plus after work drinks. I guess I can chalk that day off.

Saturday: 12km running in very cold temperatures, followed by stretching, free weights, and 5o sit-ups

Sunday: I had intended to go a 25km quick loop on my winter bike (single speed steel MTB with studded ice tyres), but I didn’t put my overshoes on (doh!) and the extreme cold put paid to that. I managed about 7.5km before my feet froze, and I was forced to run back with the bike, not least because that was the only way to get my feet warm again.

All in all, it was a start, and I got quite a bit done, but several things needed to change. I have to get my 3 swims a week in, I have to extend the distance of my run at least once a week over my basic 10km, and I have to do more combinations of disciplines.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment